Skip to navigation – Site map

65 | avril 2014
Le financement de l’éducation

Financing education
La financiación de la educación
Edited by Thierry Chevaillier
65-Le financement de l’éducation-couverture
More about this picture
ISBN 978-2-85420-603-6

Across the world, the second half of the twentieth century was marked by the considerable development of the education sector. This development concerns all education tiers levels of education, from primary to higher education, and places a heavy burden on national budgets. All countries are implementing education funding reforms in order to increase staff numbers, improve results, and adapt to the demands of a changing society.
Issue 65 of the Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres explores policies pursued over the last few decades to maintain or increase resources earmarked for education. It draws on nine case studies from England, Argentina, Burkina Faso, France, Norway, Pakistan, Russia, Thailand and Vietnam, and provides a comparative analysis and bibliography.
Despite the great diversity of contexts and constraints affecting the education systems analysed in this issue, common trends can be identified. Funding mechanisms tend to be differentiated depending on the education tiers level of education in question, private funding accounts for an increasingly large share of higher education resources, and the separation between the public and private sectors is becoming blurred and giving way to mixed funding and management mechanisms. Across the board, the very organisation of education systems is evolving as a result of increased competition and the introduction of new, market-inspired approaches.
These innovations entail a redefinition of the state’s role and policy instruments. In its capacity as leader, arbiter and guarantor of equality, the state’s organisation and financial and regulatory interventions are being redefined.
The issue is coordinated by Thierry Chevaillier, emeritus professor at the University of Burgundy.

Navigation – Plan du site

65 | avril 2014
Le financement de l’éducation

Financing education
La financiación de la educación
Sous la direction de Thierry Chevaillier
65-Le financement de l’éducation-couverture
Informations sur cette image
ISBN 978-2-85420-603-6

La seconde moitié du vingtième siècle a été marquée, partout dans le monde, par un développement considérable du secteur éducatif. Cette évolution concerne tous les niveaux d’enseignement, du primaire au supérieur, et fait peser une lourde charge sur les budgets nationaux. Tous les pays mettent aujourd’hui en œuvre des réformes spécifiques du financement de l’éducation, afin d’accompagner la croissance des effectifs, d’améliorer les résultats et de s’adapter aux nouvelles exigences de la société.
Ce numéro 65 de la Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres propose un éclairage sur les politiques menées, durant les dernières décennies, pour maintenir ou accroître les ressources consacrées à l’éducation, à travers neuf études de cas portant sur l’Angleterre, l’Argentine, le Burkina Faso, la France, la Norvège, le Pakistan, la Russie, la Thaïlande, le Vietnam complétées d’une étude comparative et d’une bibliographie.
Malgré la grande diversité des contextes et des contraintes pesant sur les systèmes éducatifs étudiés, des tendances communes sont observables. Les modes de financement tendent à se différencier en fonction des niveaux d’éducation concernés, le financement privé représente une part croissante des ressources de l’enseignement supérieur et la séparation entre secteur public et secteur privé s’estompe, au profit de modes de financement et de gestion mixtes. Partout, l’organisation même des systèmes éducatifs évolue, sous l’effet d’une concurrence accrue et de l’introduction de nouvelles logiques inspirées des mécanismes du marché.
Ces innovations entraînent une redéfinition du rôle et des moyens d’action de l’État. A la fois pilote, arbitre et garant de l’équité, il redéfinit en conséquence son organisation, ses interventions financières et sa production de réglementation.
Un numéro coordonné par Thierry Chevaillier, professeur émérite, Université de Bourgogne