Skip to navigation – Site map

69 | 2015
Pourquoi enseigner l’histoire ?

Why teach history?
¿Por qué enseñar historia?
Edited by Jean-Clément Martin

Why do we teach history? The question may come as a surprise given our conviction in the necessity of this subject in France. Yet it is clear that in terms of content, curricula, methods and epistemological and ideological roots, teaching of the subject varies widely from state to state.

Through ten case studies (Canada, Colombia, France, Italy, Germany, Japan, Morocco, Russia, South Africa and Vietnam), Issue 69 of the Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres aims to study the goals and objectives of institutions when implementing history teaching, evaluating the methods applied and selecting facts and historical figures.

This contemporary comparative panorama produces unexpected findings.

The teaching of history raises urgent and almost identical questions in all the countries, particularly in terms of the relationship with memory and with the national or communitarian narrative.

It also emerges that, in each of these countries, there is a clear opposition between two teaching methods, one of which is more traditional and emphasizes the national discourse, while the other displays a critical approach. These two methods are universally used, yet with a degree of hesitation, or even remorse, in some countries.

Perhaps the very definition of history is at stake here. Who holds the keys to how it is written? Bearers of memory? Or politicians? Why does the supranational level appear only rarely in these articles? How can pupils’ lack of interest in this subject, as described by the authors, be explained?

Reading the contributions, it seems that across the board there is a concern to seek out the usefulness of this very specific subject, which straddles scientific preoccupations, social imperatives and the pressing need to live together in harmony.

Issue coordinated by Jean-Clément Martin,
emeritus professor at Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne University

Navigation – Plan du site

69 | 2015
Pourquoi enseigner l’histoire ?

Why teach history?
¿Por qué enseñar historia?
Sous la direction de Jean-Clément Martin

Pourquoi enseigne-t-on l’histoire ? La question peut étonner tant nous sommes persuadés, en France, de la nécessité de cet enseignement. Mais force est de constater que, selon les États, les modalités d’enseignement sont très disparates dans leurs contenus, programmes, méthodes, enracinements épistémologiques et idéologiques.

Ce numéro 69 de la Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres se propose, à travers dix études de cas (Afrique du Sud, Allemagne, Canada, Colombie, France, Italie, Japon, Maroc, Russie, Vietnam), d’étudier les objectifs et les buts poursuivis par les institutions, quand elles mettent en place un enseignement historique, évaluent les méthodes appliquées, sélectionnent des faits et des personnages.

Des constats inattendus émergent de ce panorama comparatiste contemporain.

Partout, l’enseignement de l’histoire soulève des questions urgentes qui se posent dans des termes quasiment identiques, et en particulier celles des rapports à la mémoire et au récit national ou communautaire.

On découvre également, dans tous ces pays, une opposition claire entre deux méthodes d’enseignement : l’une plus traditionnelle, qui tend à privilégier le discours national, et l’autre qui vise à mettre en évidence l'approche critique. Ces deux méthodes sont utilisées partout mais avec des hésitations, voire des remords dans certains pays.

C’est peut-être la définition même de l'histoire qui est en jeu : qui détient les clés de son écriture ? Les porteurs de mémoire ? Les politiques ? Pourquoi le niveau supranational n'apparaît-il que rarement dans les articles ? Comment s’explique le désintérêt des élèves et des étudiants pour cet enseignement, que relèvent les auteurs ?

A lire les contributions, il semble qu’on soit partout à la recherche de l’utilité de cet enseignement spécifique, au croisement des préoccupations scientifiques, des besoins sociaux et des urgences du vivre ensemble.