Skip to navigation – Site map

71 | 2016
Formation professionnelle et employabilité

Vocational training and employability
Formación profesional y empleabilidad
Edited by Christian Forestier
RIES-n°71-avril 2016
More about this picture
ISBN 978-2-85420-610-4

How can the quality and the flows of initial vocational training be adapted to economic needs? Which qualifications are needed? What role should business play, and where should the state lead? What importance should be attached to general training, and what is the place of learning?

These questions – which are crucially important in the context of an economic crisis that in many countries manifests itself in the great difficulty of integrating young people into the labour market at the end of their initial training – occupy decision-makers everywhere, to a greater or lesser extent depending on the context.

The 10 case studies included in this dossier cover Europe (Italy, Germany, France, Poland), Africa (Morocco, Côte d’Ivoire), Asia (China, Singapore, the Philippines) and the Americas (Canada and Colombia). They are accompanied by a summary of the situation in OECD countries and an analytical bibliography.

The focus is on the training of manual workers and employees up to technician grade. In many developed countries, it is this intermediary level that poses the most problems in terms of employability. It is also at this level that the most differences are found between systems, both in terms of political leadership and the role conferred to the professional sphere.

This panorama highlights not only common issues, which receive complex and varying responses depending on the context, but also a general tendency, namely that a command of fundamental skills has become decisive, as has scientific and technical training as a quality factor in training systems.

Navigation – Plan du site

71 | 2016
Formation professionnelle et employabilité

Vocational training and employability
Formación profesional y empleabilidad
Sous la direction de Christian Forestier
RIES-n°71-avril 2016
Informations sur cette image
ISBN 978-2-85420-610-4

Comment adapter la qualité et les flux de formation professionnelle initiale aux besoins économiques ? Avec quels diplômes, quel rôle des entreprises, quel pilotage par l’Etat, quelle importance de la formation générale, quelle place pour l’apprentissage ?

Ces questions, d’une importance cruciale dans un contexte de crise qui se traduit dans de nombreux pays par de grandes difficultés d’insertion des jeunes à la fin de la formation initiale, interpellent partout les décideurs, avec une plus ou moins grande intensité selon les contextes.

Les dix études de cas proposées dans ce dossier portent sur l’Europe (Italie, Allemagne, France, Pologne), l’Afrique (Maroc, Côte d’Ivoire), l’Asie (Chine, Singapour et Philippines) et les Amériques (Québec et Colombie). Elles sont complétées d’une synthèse sur les pays de l’OCDE et d’une bibliographie analytique.

L’attention se porte principalement sur la formation des ouvriers et employés jusqu’aux techniciens. Dans de nombreux pays développés, c’est ce niveau intermédiaire qui pose le plus de problèmes en termes d’employabilité. C’est aussi le niveau où l’on trouve le plus de différences entre les systèmes, aussi bien en ce qui concerne le pilotage politique que le rôle confié à la sphère professionnelle.

Ce panorama met en évidence non seulement des problématiques communes, auxquelles sont apportées des réponses complexes, mais aussi une tendance générale : l’importance de la maîtrise des compétences fondamentales est devenue déterminante, de même que celle des formations scientifiques et techniques comme facteur de qualité dans les systèmes de formation.