Skip to navigation – Site map

Colloque 2009 : Un seul monde, une seule école ? Les modèles scolaires à l'épreuve de la mondialisation

12, 13, 14 mars 2009 - CIEP
One World, One School? School Models and Globalisation

Education systems have been based on several models with a universal aim that have applied to a wide range of countries and situations. This rationale for seeking convergence has always been encouraged by international bodies as well as by the bilateral cooperation agreements signed between the different States.
However, after observing the reality of schools in this ‘‘global village’’, it appears that distinct forms of schools have emerged and are continuing to emerge, which are in fact juxtaposed. They live side by side and form a unit that is quite diversified and complex.
This situation has come about due to the historic, political, economic, religious, social and cultural specificity of each country. Moreover, all school systems do not share the same rationale, do not proclaim the same values, and do not necessarily lean towards the same organisation or even the same purposes.
The International Conference organised by the Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres aims at defining and analysing the different elements of this diversity. This event will endeavour to discern the developments, resistance, points of convergence and what may be considered as singular or hybrid in nature.
The Conference provides a framework for research and the practices in various countries over four continents, including systemic or local changes, innovative or emerging developments. The participants will also compare the policies implemented by the States, international organisations, schools, territories and communities. This will lead to a better understanding of today’s educational trends in many countries.

  • ATELIER A : L'ÉCOLE ET SES HÉRITAGES. LES RÉSISTANCES AUX ÉVOLUTIONS

    Workshop A: Education and its legacy. Resistance to change
    Edited by Françoise MARTIN VAN DER HAEGEN

    Many education systems are experiencing waves of reform, which seem to be rolling in just as they are responding to the challenge of large-scale expansion in a difficult economic environment where the relationship between staff and students needs redefining. The role of the nation-state in education seems to be under question everywhere, both in the organisation, regulation and funding of the systems, and in teacher training and defining content and curricula. How can each country integrate this global shift into its heritage, along with the traditional reference points that are distinctive of its culture and with the long established implicit or explicit social contract it has with its schools?

  • ATELIER B : L'ÉVALUATION DE L'ÉCOLE PAR LES STANDARDS INTERNATIONAUX

    Workshop B: Assessing education with international standards
    Edited by Jean-Marie DE KETELE

    In recent years, quality standards organisations have emerged in every field of human activity. Educational systems have not escaped this movement and experience tension between those who advocate universal standards and those who defend standards adapted to local contexts. This tension appears on many levels. How is standardisation defined and what implications does it carry? Who is qualified to identify and define standards? How is information gathered? How are results published and used, and for what ends?

  • ATELIER C : LES INEGALITÉS DANS L'ÉDUCATION : RÉPONSES LOCALES, RÉPONSES GLOBALES

    Workshop C: Inequality in education: local responses, global responses
    Edited by Pierre-Louis GAUTHIER

    In the twenty-first century, all societies, from the most developed to the least privileged, have experienced increasing imbalance in their social structures. Everywhere, the social divide is widening into an educational divide that creates inequality. Has equality in education become no more than wishful thinking? Will education be forced to surrender its liberating mission and accept inequality as an inevitable ill? Questions will be asked about the nature of educational inequality, its causes and the potential cures.

  • ATELIER D : VALEURS ET CONTENUS D'ENSEIGNEMENT

    Workshop D: The values and content of teaching
    Edited by Roger-François GAUTHIER and Florence ROBINE

    Whilst quantitative questions regarding the large-scale expansion of education systems were for a long time in the foreground, the issue of content is now a strategic question, because it relates to the effectiveness and quality of learning. But what happens when there is tension between different views of priorities, such as consistency of content between different educational levels, globalisation or better adaptation to students’ actual circumstances and lifestyles?

  • ATELIER E : L'ÉDUCATION, SEGMENT DU MARCHÉ SCOLAIRE ?

    Workshop E: State schooling: an education market sector?
    Edited by Bernard CORNU

    The education market is growing and, alongside schools new players are appearing in education, new forms of school, new learning services, new educational professions. Are schools now merely a segment of the education market? How do the education market and state education interact? Where and how can learning happen? These are questions about the role of schools in the public provision of education. The issue of the education market is also a political issue.

  • ATELIER F : DIVERSITÉ DES ÉLÈVES, DES ENSEIGNANTS ET DIVERSIFICATION DES PRATIQUES

    Workshop F: Student and teacher diversity and the diversification of methods
    Edited by Alain WARZÉE

    Can student diversity, which is not always perceived in a positive light, be a source of richness for teaching and constitute added value in education? There are many “differences” between students on various levels, and it is by diversifying methods and practices that appropriate solutions can be offered. How should students with a disability be catered for? What specific practices should be put into place for receiving and teaching students from minority backgrounds? How should the academic and educational difficulties students from immigrant backgrounds, who are often culturally and socially marginalised, be dealt with? Which methods should be encouraged to respond positively to student diversity: institutional answers (specialised structures) or differentiated teaching methods?

Navigation – Plan du site

Colloque 2009 : Un seul monde, une seule école ? Les modèles scolaires à l'épreuve de la mondialisation

12, 13, 14 mars 2009 - CIEP
One World, One School? School Models and Globalisation

L'École actuelle s'est construite en référence à quelques modèles à vocation universelle appliqués à une grande diversité de pays et de situations. Cette dynamique de convergence est toujours encouragée par les organismes internationaux ainsi que par des accords bilatéraux de coopération entre les États.
Pourtant, l'observation des réalités scolaires dans le "village planétaire" montre qu'ont émergé dans l'histoire, et surgissent encore, des formes scolaires distinctes qui demeurent juxtaposées. Elles cohabitent et constituent un ensemble diversifié et complexe.
Cet état de fait résulte de spécificités historiques, politiques, économiques, religieuses, sociales et culturelles propres à chaque pays. De plus, tous les systèmes éducatifs ne s'inscrivent pas dans une même logique, ne se réclament pas des mêmes valeurs, ne tendent pas nécessairement vers une même organisation ni, a fortiori, vers une même finalité.
Le colloque organisé par la Revue internationale d'éducation de Sèvres se propose d'identifier et d'analyser les éléments de cette diversité. Il s'attachera à discerner ce qui se développe mais aussi ce qui résiste, les grandes convergences comme les singularités et les hybridations.
Il fournira un cadre pour que soient exposés les points de vue des acteurs, les évolutions systémiques ou locales, les innovations ou dispositifs émergents. Les participants compareront également les objectifs et les caractéristiques des politiques mises en oeuvre au niveau des États, des organisations internationales, des établissements scolaires, des territoires et des communautés.
Les communications présentées lors du colloque sont publiées ici. Pour poursuivre cette réflexion, on pourra lire également en ligne le numéro 52, décembre 2009 : « Un seul monde, une seule école? ».

  • ATELIER A : L'ÉCOLE ET SES HÉRITAGES. LES RÉSISTANCES AUX ÉVOLUTIONS

    Workshop A: Education and its legacy. Resistance to change
    Sous la direction de Françoise MARTIN VAN DER HAEGEN

    De nombreux systèmes éducatifs connaissent des courants de réformes qui semblent converger au moment où ils doivent répondre aux défis posés par la massification dans un contexte économique difficile, et avec des relations entre les acteurs et usagers de l’école à redéfinir. Il semble que partout soit interrogé le rôle de l’État-nation dans l’organisation, la régulation et le financement des systèmes éducatifs ainsi que dans la formation des enseignants, la définition des contenus et des curricula. Comment chaque pays inscrit-il cette évolution mondiale dans son héritage, dans les repères traditionnels qui marquent sa culture et dans le contrat social implicite ou explicite établi de longue date avec son école?

  • ATELIER B : L'ÉVALUATION DE L'ÉCOLE PAR LES STANDARDS INTERNATIONAUX

    Workshop B: Assessing education with international standards
    Sous la direction de Jean-Marie DE KETELE

    Ces dernières années, les organismes traitant des standards de qualité se sont multipliés dans tous les domaines de l’activité humaine. Les systèmes éducatifs n’échappent pas à ce mouvement et vivent une tension entre ceux qui prônent des standards universels et ceux qui défendent des standards adaptés aux contextes. Cette tension s’observe sur plusieurs plans : comment définir le concept de standard et quelles connotations véhicule-t-il ? Qui est habilité à identifier et définir les standards ? Comment se font le recueil d’informations, la communication des résultats et leur exploitation… et pour quels usages ?

  • ATELIER C : LES INEGALITÉS DANS L'ÉDUCATION : RÉPONSES LOCALES, RÉPONSES GLOBALES

    Workshop C: Inequality in education: local responses, global responses
    Sous la direction de Pierre-Louis GAUTHIER

    Toutes les sociétés, des plus développées aux plus défavorisées, connaissent, en ce XXIe siècle, un déséquilibre croissant de leurs structures sociétales. Partout, la fracture sociale se prolonge en une fracture scolaire génératrice d’inégalités. L’égalité devant l’éducation est-elle devenue une utopie ? L’école doit-elle renoncer à sa mission émancipatrice et s’adapter aux inégalités tenues comme une fatalité ? On s’interrogera sur la nature des inégalités éducatives, leurs causes, les remédiations mises en œuvre.

  • ATELIER D : VALEURS ET CONTENUS D'ENSEIGNEMENT

    Workshop D: The values and content of teaching
    Sous la direction de Roger-François GAUTHIER et Florence ROBINE

    Alors que les questions quantitatives liées à la massification des systèmes d'éducation furent longtemps prédominantes, la question de ce que les élèves apprennent est désormais stratégique, car liée à l'efficacité et à la qualité des apprentissages. Mais que se passe-t-il quand elle est tiraillée entre des logiques différentes, comme celle de la mise en cohérence des contenus entre les différents niveaux d'enseignement, de la mondialisation ou d'une meilleure prise en compte des élèves réels ?

  • ATELIER E : L'ÉDUCATION, SEGMENT DU MARCHÉ SCOLAIRE ?

    Workshop E: State schooling: an education market sector?
    Sous la direction de Bernard CORNU

    Le marché scolaire se développe, et aux côtés de l’école apparaissent d’autres acteurs dans l’éducation, d’autres formes d’écoles, de nouveaux services pour apprendre, de nouveaux métiers éducatifs. L’école ne serait-elle désormais qu’un segment du marché scolaire ? Comment s’articulent dès lors le marché scolaire et l’éducation ? Où et comment peut-on apprendre ? Ces questions interrogent sur la place de l’école dans le service public de l’éducation : la question de l’école dans le marché scolaire est aussi une question politique.

  • ATELIER F : DIVERSITÉ DES ÉLÈVES, DES ENSEIGNANTS ET DIVERSIFICATION DES PRATIQUES

    Workshop F: Student and teacher diversity and the diversification of methods
    Sous la direction de Alain WARZÉE

    La diversité des élèves, qui n’est pas toujours appréhendée a priori de manière positive, peut-elle être source d’enrichissement pédagogique et constituer une plus-value en éducation ? Les « différences » entre élèves sont nombreuses, diverses, et c’est par la diversification des dispositifs et des pratiques pédagogiques que l’on propose des solutions adaptées. Quelles sont les modalités d’accueil des élèves porteurs de handicap ? Quelles pratiques spécifiques d’accueil et de scolarisation met-on en place pour les élèves issus de minorités ? Comment traiter les difficultés scolaires et éducatives des élèves issus de populations immigrées, souvent défavorisées culturellement et socialement ? Quelle voie privilégier entre réponses institutionnelles (structures spécialisées) et pratiques de différenciation pédagogique, pour répondre positivement à l’hétérogénéité des élèves ?