Skip to navigation – Site map

73 | 2016
Ce que l’école enseigne à tous

What school teaches everyone
Lo que la escuela enseña a todos
Edited by Roger-François GAUTHIER
Couverture RIES 73
More about this picture
ISBN 978-2-85420-612-8

Do all countries share the objective of providing common schooling to all pupils, and to what ends?
Starting out from this question, Issue 73 of the Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres examines the content of mandatory schooling in a dozen countries. Is the content conceived as common to all pupils? Is there a social consensus on this subject? Does what is called “common” have the same meaning from one country to the next? Which content is prioritized?
The authors analyze the context in their country (Algeria, France, Liberia, Quebec, Romania, Scotland/England, Spain, Vietnam), and show that in each country these issues possess strong political significance.
In these different societies, there are certainly many political reasons to wish for common schooling, whether in terms of citizenship, the creation of a common culture, or the fight against inequalities.
Yet the consensus on these policies and their aims does not seem self-evident in any of the countries studied, whether in terms of the extent of the common curriculum to be defined, or the content to be prioritized. Furthermore, the development of different forms of an education market or quasi-market has joined with ideological oppositions to compromise the very notion of common schooling, which as an objective remains permanently under pressure in many education systems.

Navigation – Plan du site

73 | 2016
Ce que l’école enseigne à tous

What school teaches everyone
Lo que la escuela enseña a todos
Sous la direction de Roger-François GAUTHIER
Couverture RIES 73
Informations sur cette image
ISBN 978-2-85420-612-8

Cherche-t-on partout à bâtir une école qui soit commune à tous les élèves, et avec quelles finalités ?
À partir de cette interrogation, le numéro 73 de la Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres examine les contenus de l’enseignement obligatoire d’une dizaine de pays : sont-ils  pensés comme communs à tous les élèves ? Existe-t-il un consensus social à ce sujet ? Ce qu’on appelle « commun » a-t-il le même sens, d’un pays à l’autre ? Quels contenus sont privilégiés ?
Les auteurs analysent le contexte de leur pays (Algérie, Écosse/Angleterre, Espagne, France, Libéria, Québec, Roumanie, Vietnam), et montrent que ces questions revêtent partout une forte signification politique.
Il existe bien, dans ces différentes sociétés, de nombreux motifs politiques de souhaiter une école commune, que ce soit en termes de citoyenneté, de création d’une culture commune ou de lutte contre les inégalités.
Mais le consensus sur ces politiques et leurs finalités ne semble aller de soi dans aucun des pays étudiés : ni sur le degré de commun à définir, ni sur les contenus à privilégier. De plus, le développement des différentes formes du marché ou quasi marché de l’éducation rejoint des oppositions idéologiques pour compromettre la notion même d’école commune, qui demeure un objectif sous tension permanente, dans de nombreux systèmes éducatifs.