Skip to navigation – Site map

54 | septembre 2010
Palmarès et classements en éducation

League Tables and Ranking in Education
Palmarés y clasificaciones en la educación
Edited by Michel Lussault
Palmarès et classements en éducation
More about this picture
ISBN 978-2-85420-582-4

Contemporary societies are penetrated by the need to assess and compare public institutions, public policy and the ensuing actions. In today’s world nothing escapes the influence of ranking.
While education long remained untouched by this drive, it too is now under close scrutiny, the growing impact of assessment provoking strongly contrasting opinions, commensurate with the issues at stake.
Performance indicators, league tables and rankings have the devastating power to expose misfires in the workings of our institutions. They invariably raise fundamental political questions: What function does society attribute to knowledge? To the act of generating and transmitting knowledge?
As this trend gains ground, arousing increasingly heated debate, the recent issue of the Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres examines the question in terms of its impact on compulsory education (through education system assessments) and higher education (through university ranking).
In a series of articles based on international comparisons, this issue reveals the weight of social, national and supranational contexts, while attempting to explain the major global trends unveiled by this analysis.

Navigation – Plan du site

54 | septembre 2010
Palmarès et classements en éducation

League Tables and Ranking in Education
Palmarés y clasificaciones en la educación
Sous la direction de Michel Lussault
Palmarès et classements en éducation
Informations sur cette image
ISBN 978-2-85420-582-4

Les sociétés contemporaines sont marquées par le souci d’évaluer et de comparer institutions, politiques et activités publiques. Aujourd’hui, plus rien n’échappe à l’empire du classement.
Dans le domaine de l’éducation, longtemps resté à l’écart, la généralisation de ce phénomène suscite des prises de position tranchées, tant est grande l’importance des enjeux.
Car indicateurs, palmarès et classements possèdent un fort pouvoir de mise en évidence des dysfonctionnements institutionnels. Ils mènent toujours à des questions politiques fondamentales : celles du rôle que les sociétés entendent faire jouer aux savoirs, à leur production et à leur transmission.
Devant l’ampleur de cette vague et la montée en puissance des débats, la récente livraison de la Revue internationale d’éducation de Sèvres aborde cette question aussi bien pour l’enseignement obligatoire (performances des systèmes éducatifs) que pour l’enseignement supérieur (qualité des universités).
A travers une dizaine d’articles tournés vers la comparaison internationale, le numéro met en évidence non seulement le poids des contextes sociaux, nationaux ou supranationaux, mais aussi l’existence de grandes tendances mondiales, qu’il tente d’expliciter.