Skip to navigation – Site map

59 | avril 2012
Éducation et ruralités

Education and ruralities
Educación y ruralidades
Edited by Pierre-Louis GAUTHIER and Odile Luginbühl
Éducation et ruralités
More about this picture
ISBN 978-2-85420-594-7

Almost half of the world's population still live in areas considered to be rural and the question of the schooling available in such regions concerns all countries, for it encompasses the principle of equal access to education.
Issue 59 of the Revue internationale d'éducation de Sèvres takes this double observation as its starting theme and offers an analysis of the schooling reality in rural environments – beyond the outdated ideas and stereotypes that we usually have of it.
Nine articles, backed up by a rich, commentated bibliography, shed light on the diversity of the ruralities (and not just rurality in its singular sense) that determine how rural schools are run across the five continents. They address the structural, pedagogical and economic complexity of situations.
Rural schooling is both precarious and essential. Beyond each country's specific features, all of the authors outline the difficulties stemming from the geographical distance from large urban areas, the small class sizes involved and the extra costs incurred. They also all underline the important role rural schools have to play in their societies as social links and maintaining ties – and even as local development factors.
How can the quality of teaching be upheld in a context of marginalisation from the urban model? As much as political resolve is instrumental in this regard, several cases have demonstrated that the specific restrictions rural schools have to tackle can, in fact, give rise to innovative approaches, which may, in turn, be adopted by the whole of the educational system.
Should we not, then, reconsider how education fits into rural life and turn its distinctiveness in an advantage for improving the quality of education?
Case studies: Argentina, Australia, Burkina-Faso, China, Finland, France, Tanzania.
An issue coordinated by Pierre-Louis Gauthier and Odile Luginbühl

Navigation – Plan du site

59 | avril 2012
Éducation et ruralités

Education and ruralities
Educación y ruralidades
Sous la direction de Pierre-Louis GAUTHIER et Odile Luginbühl
Éducation et ruralités
Informations sur cette image
ISBN 978-2-85420-594-7

Près de la moitié de la population mondiale vit encore dans des zones considérées comme rurales et la question de l'éducation qui y est dispensée concerne tous les pays, car elle participe du principe d'égalité d'accès à l'enseignement.
Ce double constat est à l'origine de ce numéro 59 de la Revue internationale d'éducation de Sèvres, qui propose une analyse des réalités de l'école en milieu rural, au-delà des stéréotypes ou des représentations passéistes qui lui sont habituellement attachés.
Neuf articles, suivis d'une riche bibliographie commentée, éclairent la diversité, non de la ruralité, mais des ruralités qui conditionnent le fonctionnement des écoles rurales sur les cinq continents. La complexité des situations est abordée dans ses dimensions structurelles, pédagogiques et économiques.
L'école rurale est à la fois précaire et indispensable. Au-delà des particularismes propres à chaque pays, tous les auteurs évoquent des difficultés dues à l'éloignement géographique des grands centres urbains, aux faibles effectifs d'élèves concernés et aux surcoûts entraînés. Tous soulignent aussi les enjeux sociétaux de l'école rurale, comme lien social et maintien, voire facteur du développement local.
Comment préserver la qualité de l'enseignement dans un contexte de marginalisation par rapport au modèle urbain ? La volonté politique joue un rôle essentiel, mais plusieurs expériences montrent que les contraintes propres aux écoles rurales peuvent susciter des démarches innovantes, elles-mêmes transférables à l'ensemble du système éducatif.
Ne peut-on alors reconsidérer la place de l'éducation en milieu rural, et faire de sa particularité un atout pour l'amélioration de la qualité de l'éducation ?
Études de cas : Argentine, Australie, Burkina-Faso, Chine, Finlande, France, Tanzanie.
Un numéro coordonné par Pierre-Louis Gauthier et Odile Luginbühl